I upgraded (?) to Windows 10

Closed Thread
Old 05-03-2016, 12:49 PM
Sage
Default I upgraded (?) to Windows 10

I'm no expert on Computer security. But when somebody suggests laptops are "far less stable" than desktops, I then question their opinion regarding laptop security also...because a good laptop is very stable...easily comparable to a desktop.
Old 05-03-2016, 12:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Polar Bear View Post
I'm no expert on Computer security. But when somebody suggests laptops are "far less stable" than desktops, I then question their opinion regarding laptop security also...because a good laptop is very stable...easily comparable to a desktop.
Just to argue the point -

You typically do not see a desktop fail from spilled soda, falling, hitting, hinge failure, power cord tripping and on and on - if you have a hard drive it is in essence a gyroscope. It does not like to change its direction (thus they spin on average about 50% the speed of a desktop drive these days). Server drives have been at 15,000rpm for years. Laptops are typically 5400rpm - desktops typically 7200 or 10,000rpm. There are "SMART" drives and other fun things to "park the heads" in the case of sudden rotational changes in the gyroscopic direction (easier with a smaller, slower drive).

A neat point. Some of what makes a Lenovo $600.00 laptop "different" than a seemingly equally performing $2000.00 "Business" laptop is how water proof, how impact proof and being made of metal as opposed to plastic - for the reason I mention.

You typically do not see a desktop left in a taxi -

Burglars typically these days leave desktops -

OS to OS, they are about equal. As for PHYSICAL security, and what not - desktops are the hands down winners (and thus what you see in business, and then still often bolted down) - Once your physical security is lost, there is no data security.

Last edited by Record10ti; 05-03-2016 at 01:04 PM.
Old 05-03-2016, 02:40 PM
Sage