» Premium Sponsors
» Banner Sponsors
» Advertisements
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Do I need termite protection?
Old 02-21-2013, 12:57 PM

Default Do I need termite protection?

I am new in The Villages and have heard a lot about termite protection programs. Some say you must use the commercial programs, others say there are no termites and you don't need to do anything. Also had someone tell me I can just buy some material at the hardware and put down a barrier around my house every 6 months myself. What do you experienced Villagers think?

Old 02-21-2013, 01:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patf View Post
I am new in The Villages and have heard a lot about termite protection programs. Some say you must use the commercial programs, others say there are no termites and you don't need to do anything. Also had someone tell me I can just buy some material at the hardware and put down a barrier around my house every 6 months myself. What do you experienced Villagers think?
Here's my take after 18+ years living in Florida: Sand + Moisture + Warm = Termite Smorgasbord. Any property I have owned has always been treated and Bonded by reputable company. I have seen termite damage up close and personal in one rental home I bought and for my money the cost of a commercial contract is small potatoes compared top the risk.
Not a termite expert, but that's my take FWIW:
Old 02-21-2013, 01:47 PM

I waffled about getting the termite protection package from Massey, but in the end got it. It's one of those "one more expense" to tack on to your new home. But, in the end, it does take away the wondering if you should have signed up for it. It's like life insurance, you know........
Old 02-21-2013, 04:46 PM
Sage

do not waffle on this one.....get the termite protection...it does not cost that much to maintain and will be a pitance compared to what you will pay if/when you find them in your house.