Sour bathroom drain smell

Closed Thread
Old 08-30-2016, 07:42 AM
Default Sour bathroom drain smell

I am new to TV. I live in Dunedin. Occasionally, I detect a sour smell in the master bath. I have used vinegar and baking soda to clean the drain but the smell just returns. Never had this problem in any of my other homes. Several friends say they have experienced the same. Why does this plague my FL bathroom drains?
Old 08-30-2016, 08:01 AM
Veteran member

try some bleach
Old 08-30-2016, 08:10 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,996 Times in 2,197 Posts

If you fill the sink (?), does it drain quickly, or slowly? If slowly, you may have a partial blockage. I saw one of these do it yourself plastic drain cleaners (ACE hardware I think). These are inserted, and pulled back out and the hooks grab the clog and pull it out. You could also try one of the chemical drain cleaners. The other possibility might be a clogged vent pipe. This will probably need a plumber to verify.
Hope this helps.
Old 08-30-2016, 09:33 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,039 Times in 373 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJFL1 View Post
I am new to TV. I live in Dunedin. Occasionally, I detect a sour smell in the master bath. I have used vinegar and baking soda to clean the drain but the smell just returns. Never had this problem in any of my other homes. Several friends say they have experienced the same. Why does this plague my FL bathroom drains?
Periodically, I have the same thing happen in my shower stall drain. Two weeks ago we had a plumber do some work in the bathroom and I asked him about it. He told me it is probably standing water in the "S" pipe under the shower stall. He suggested I pour a cup of bleach into the shower drain and leave that for several hours, if that does not work he suggested using up to a whole bottle of bleach and leaving it to kill off the mold spores that grow up the pipe from the "S" bend. I mentioned vinegar and he said it just is not strong enough to kill mold at the source.