Heart Surgery

Closed Thread
Old 03-20-2017, 07:03 AM
Default Heart Surgery

I will need to have open heart surgery to replace my aortic valve. Can anyone comment on if Leesburg or Munroe Regional is a better alternative.

I would also welcome any recommendations for a good local cardiologist.
Old 03-20-2017, 07:16 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by SB8476 View Post
I will need to have open heart surgery to replace my aortic valve. Can anyone comment on if Leesburg or Munroe Regional is a better alternative.

Cleveland Clinic is an airplane ride away and the best in the entire country.
Old 03-20-2017, 07:42 AM
Smile

Quote:

Monroe, I had valve replaced & 5 by passes. Great hospital. I have Dr Kirsch & he is great.
Old 03-20-2017, 07:44 AM

I have no first-hand experience with Munroe Regional, but I do have experience with Leesburg Hospital. I had bypass surgery/mitral valve repair at Leesburg and they were terrific. Leesburg has a very good reputation for heart-related issues.
My surgeon was Dr. Wistar (Tim) Moore III.
Old 03-20-2017, 08:28 AM
Platinum member

I would not trust open heart surgery to any facility or doctor in this area. You need a hospital affiliated with a quality academic institution like Shands in Gainesville (University of Florida) or Tampa General Hospital (University of South Florida).

You should also consider a TAVR instead of open heart surgery if they consider you a candidate. Minimal invasive with no opening of the chest and often with better results.
Old 03-20-2017, 08:58 AM

I had a bypass and heart valve replaced at Leesburg Hospital last summer. Although the docs and nurses were great, I was not impressed with the hospital's scheduling, procedures, or food service. Tests were missed and rescheduled. My leg incision got infected. Food was inedible. More stress than necessary. Go somewhere else.
Old 03-20-2017, 09:05 AM