Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Contractors and Services (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/contractors-services-91/)
-   -   Taxi, Uber and other services (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/contractors-services-91/taxi-uber-other-services-218281/)

TheDude 11-13-2016 09:45 PM

Taxi, Uber and other services

Without a car, what is the best way to get long distances if needed? What does everyone do.

I'm a disabled veteran (I may say that a lot so people can understand) and driving isn't something I may be doing. Golf cart will be no problem.

I just may to get outside the villages, or to places that are far from where I plan on living.

Any ideas?

KathieI 11-13-2016 10:29 PM

My ex-husband lives here and he is disabled also. If I can't drive him someplace (which is usually what we do), he uses the local taxi cab companies who are very reliable and they take him to his doctor appointments, or other appointments if I am busy. I think you will find that many of your neighbors will soon offer their services too. The people here are very kind and friendly and very helpful.

Again, good luck.

Chi-Town 11-13-2016 11:04 PM

Uber isn't really a viable option here as of yet.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

TheDude 11-14-2016 08:24 AM

Everyone.

Thanks for the replies. Uber would be great but who would do the driving. I am guessing the taxi services are good here and are listed in the forums.

johnboy 11-14-2016 07:35 PM

The Uber driver would drive them. Problem is we don't always have the app on to accept requests.

KathieI 11-14-2016 08:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JLS33 (Post 1320153)
Everyone.

Thanks for the replies. Uber would be great but who would do the driving. I am guessing the taxi services are good here and are listed in the forums.

We don't have Uber as yet. My ex uses Villages Taxi which is very reliable.

graciegirl 11-14-2016 08:45 PM

Quote: