Drove through an accident in one of the Villages' traffic circles yesterday.

Closed Thread
Old 06-24-2010, 07:27 AM
Taltarzac
Default Drove through an accident in one of the Villages' traffic circles yesterday.

It looked like one of the lawn care trucks with a trailer had hit a small white SUV. The SUV left side hood was pushed up to look like it opens sideways rather than towards the front windshield.

This one inside the Belvedere/Buena Vista traffic circle at about 12:40 p.m. June 23, 2010.

I suppose no one was actually hurt in this accident though as there was nothing about it in today's Villages Daily Sun.

These traffic circles still make me extremely nervous even though I have been driving here in TV since July of 2005.

Last edited by Taltarzac725; 06-24-2010 at 07:35 AM.
Old 06-24-2010, 07:42 AM
Veteran member

Roundabouts are safe when they are one lane only. When they are two lane the confusion begins. Who has the right away.. inside lane or out..
Old 06-24-2010, 08:35 AM
Default roundabouts

Two lane roundabouts are very simple.

Entering the roundabout in the right lane you can make the first right
turn or continue straight.

Entering the roundabout in the left lane you can continue straight or
continue around.

Any car already in the roundabout has the right of way.

The paperwork at the district office should be handed out to every
new homeowner or renter plus it's availability advertised every day
in the Daily Sun.
Old 06-24-2010, 08:52 AM
Platinum member
Default And Another Thing

Roundabouts are much safer when drivers obey the posted 20mph speed limit. How many drivers do you see that don't even bother to slow down at all, much less to 20?
Amarillo, TX
The Villages, FL

To quote my dad:
"I never did see a board that didn't have two sides."
Old 06-24-2010, 10:01 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway View Post

continue around.

in the Daily Sun.