Solar

Closed Thread
Old 07-21-2016, 09:26 AM
Default Solar

We are thinking of installing solar panels on the roof of our home in The Villages. Does anyone have any insights to share on this topic, particularly with respect to cost/benefit?
Old 07-21-2016, 09:44 AM
Gold member

If you search this site you will see threads on the subject
Old 07-21-2016, 11:12 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,996 Times in 2,197 Posts

Florida is NOT a solar friendly state. As mentioned above, search the site there have been a few threads on this recently. Florida does not allow third party arrangements, and loans for solar panels just significantly delay the break even for these are provided by the solar supplier. You should make out much better buying a system and using a home equity loan.
There are lots of things to consider, do the search, then ask questions if you did not find what you are looking for.
I have extensive experience on the utility and standards side of these systems, very little on the actual installation side.
Old 07-21-2016, 12:08 PM
Question Solar

So, if I understand you correctly, it would be best to pay in full with your own funds.
Old 07-21-2016, 12:12 PM
Question Solar

Does anyone have insights on whole house systems, specifically? What I have read makes me a bit dubious but I would like some specifics, if available.
Old 07-21-2016, 12:44 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by wjrica View Post
So, if I understand you correctly, it would be best to pay in full with your own funds.
Yes, please do your own financial analysis, but by using a HE loan, you can deduct the interest from income tax, while if you finance through a vendor no such luck. Also, the HE loan rate will probably be lower the vendor rates.

If you are still looking, get at least 2 or 3 quotes, double check warranty, at least 5 years for workmanship, and 20+ years on the solar panels.