Tankless Water heater

Closed Thread
Old 12-18-2014, 08:11 PM
Default Tankless Water heater

I am curious if anyone has changed there water heater to a hot water heater that is tankless. Does it perform good and what brands would anyone recommend. How much does installation cost for electric models? It seems we run out of hot water or have to turn it up full to get hot water. We have turned the temperature all the way up on the water heater and it is only a 40 gallon unit that is a year old.
Old 12-18-2014, 09:34 PM

Sounds like you might have a defective water heater. It shouldn't run out in any homes here in TV unless you run the hot water for an excessively long period of time - not likely. If only a year old, it must still be under warranty so I'd call some to take a look at the existing unit before you put in a different system.

I have no direct experience with tankless systems in my home but have used them in places overseas. They worked good but I think they are fairly expensive to buy and install plus don't last as long as a good water heater tank like most of us have.
Old 12-18-2014, 09:39 PM
Sage

I had a gas tankless heater before moving to TV. It was fabulous and had a recirculating pump that provided instant hot water for a 4200 sq ft house. It also came with a lifetime warranty.
Old 12-18-2014, 09:51 PM

That would be a great system to have for around here. We haven't had a problem running out of hot water but it can take a long time to get it all the way from the tank at one end of the house to the guest bath at the other end.

To the OP, I just did a "Search" on Tankless Hot Water Heater and TOV returned a bunch of previous threads about this very topic. Many of them seem like they would give you some good, recent info for tankless here in TV.
Old 12-19-2014, 12:02 AM
Platinum member