stucco finish

Closed Thread
Old 04-01-2011, 12:21 PM
Default stucco finish

I am new to the Villages and recently found cracks in the stucco exterior. With all the rain the other day, we found some wet spots on the garage wall and floor. The house is still covered by warranty and I have contacted the warranty office, but has this been a chronic problem here in the past and if so what re-course is available to residents?

I've read recently that stucco should not be extended to grade level unless certain precautions are met since stucco can "wick" water through the foundation to the interior.

thanks,

rob
Old 04-01-2011, 12:50 PM

Since we're thinking of getting a stucco designer home I'm curious to hear about this myself...is there are problem as described??

Quote:
Originally Posted by robsherry View Post
I am new to the Villages and recently found cracks in the stucco exterior. With all the rain the other day, we found some wet spots on the garage wall and floor. The house is still covered by warranty and I have contacted the warranty office, but has this been a chronic problem here in the past and if so what re-course is available to residents?

I've read recently that stucco should not be extended to grade level unless certain precautions are met since stucco can "wick" water through the foundation to the interior.

thanks,

rob
Old 04-01-2011, 04:02 PM

We have stucco too and found that the water leaks were coming from the windows not being sealed correctly. We were told by Home Warranty that you had to seal all the cracks in the stucco with caulking and then paint over it. But that still did not resolve the leaks onto our carpeting. Finally figured out that the corners of the window frames were not sealed properly and since that has happened....no leaks
Old 04-02-2011, 06:03 AM
Sage