Villages Entertainment

Closed Thread
Old 02-18-2017, 09:40 PM
Veteran member
Default Villages Entertainment

I'm new to the Villages and I saw a band at Lake Sumter square few days ago that I really liked. Uncle Bob's something. What other bands that are performing at the squares, or local restaurants that are worth following? I'm talking about bands not karaoke singers. Any kind of music is OK, 50's on up, as long as it is done well.

Any favorite suggestions?
Old 02-18-2017, 10:09 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 1,477 Times in 548 Posts

You saw Uncle Bob's Rock Shop, a particular favorite of mine. Carribean Chillers is wildly popular. You can see who is playing at each of the squares in the Daily Sun, along with a brief description of the type of music they play.
Old 02-19-2017, 01:29 AM

Rocky and the Rollers
Old 02-19-2017, 07:47 AM
Gold member

Cactus Jack and the Cadillacs
Johnny Dee and the Starlighters
MPire
anything with Clark Berros, Funtastic ect
Rock Solid

"I wish I didn't know now, what I didn't know then"
-Bob Seger-
Old 02-19-2017, 10:39 AM

The Band 4-Play
Second Slice

Uncle Bob's Rock Shop is one of our favorites, love the Pink Floyd covers.
Old 02-19-2017, 10:57 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,954 Times in 1,160 Posts

I've seen Uncle Bob about 35 times over the last six years, they were my natural inclination when I first moved here. The only regret I have is their set list is almost memorized in my brain. About a year ago they did add 2 David Bowie songs and 2 Eagles (Glen Frey) songs after the two had passed. Otherwise, sometimes I have to take a break, which I'm currently on, so their music will sound fresh again.

Currently I hooked on Johnny D and the Starlights, I've seen them 5 times since last summer. It goes to the roots of rock'n'roll with a Buddy Holly style set list and performance. Every Bros, Chuck Berry, etc.