A curious writer on a walking tour...

Closed Thread
Old 11-05-2016, 08:29 AM
Default A curious writer on a walking tour...

Hello Villagers!

My name is Kent Russell. I'm a 30-year-old magazine writer/book author from Miami who is currently walking across + down the entire state of Florida. "Walkin'" Lawton Chiles was my inspiration -- but I'm not running for political office. I'm hoping to write a book about my home state and my journey through it.

Long story short, my traveling companion and I are nearing the Villages. I've read a lot about the place but have never been -- it sounds both fantastic and endlessly fascinating. I would love to learn more about it as we walk on by. Is there anyone in particular I should seek out or speak to? Is there anyone who would be willing to act as our guide, our Virgil-like cicerone to the Villages??

Apologies for coming out of left field with this message, but any suggestions or advice would be so greatly appreciated.

Thank you very much!
Kent R.
Old 11-05-2016, 09:01 AM
Default walking tour of villages

Before i reply, what are your credentials? Name a few magazines & articles for which you have written.
Just want to make you are not part of posse for developer. Want you to write a fair & balanced review of the villages.
Old 11-05-2016, 09:15 AM

No problem at all -- I had some links in my initial post, but the moderators marked those as "spam" so I didn't include them.

If you just Google my name, "Kent Russell," the first result that pops up is the New York Times review for my book "I Am Sorry to Think I Have Raised a Timid Son." Aside from that, I have written essays and reported features for Harper's, the New York Times Magazine, GQ, ESPN the Magazine, the Paris Review, and many others.

Let me know if you have any other questions!
KR
Old 11-05-2016, 09:29 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,954 Times in 1,160 Posts

Here he is, so if you see this guy in TV help him out.

The Villages Florida