Colorizing old photos

Closed Thread
Old 02-09-2017, 10:45 PM
Default Colorizing old photos

I've been toying around with taking up colorizing old photos as a small venture in The Villages and am trying to gauge if there's any demand? I've been doing it for a few years as part of a historical nonprofit I'm part of. I was also a graphic designer for many years prior. It's actually very therapeutic.

Any thoughts?

Natural looking skin tones are very tricky. Here's something I did recently.

The Villages Florida
Old 02-10-2017, 01:29 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Moon View Post
I've been toying around with taking up colorizing old photos as a small venture in The Villages and am trying to gauge if there's any demand? I've been doing it for a few years as part of a historical nonprofit I'm part of. I was also a graphic designer for many years prior. It's actually very therapeutic.

Any thoughts?

Natural looking skin tones are very tricky. Here's something I did recently.

The Villages Florida
Would this be one of those Go Fund Me things?
Old 02-10-2017, 08:20 AM

No, it's a service. GoFundMe.com is generally for charity.

It makes a nice gift.

The Villages Florida
Old 02-10-2017, 08:26 AM

Here's another example. So, it could be a childhood photo, parents, grandparents, a spouse, etc.. I've also done city scenes, homes, and landscapes.

The Villages Florida
Old 02-10-2017, 09:38 AM
Sage
Thanked 6,151 Times in 2,249 Posts

David Moon, very nice work these look very good. To gauge your demand, I would suggest possibly providing some additional info, like:
Do you clean up old photos, remove scratches or folds, stains, fading?
Do you provide other services, like digitizing photos?
Do you provide digital copy, or a finished print, or both?
Does the person have rights to make additional copies of the restored or colorized photo?
Do you have a price range in mind?