I only saw the one video that I assumed was what the officials looked at. It did seem to me that DJ's club was perilously close to the ball. If fact, based on the video I saw, it would be impossible, at least to me, to tell if his club did or did not touch the ball. The only mistake the officials made, imho, was to not immediately assess a penalty stroke after viewing the video. It used to be that if you grounded your club, and then the ball moved, you were assessed a penalty stroke (if I remember correctly). It didn't matter what caused the ball to move. I could be wrong about this, but I think I read that Jack Nicklaus did not ground his putter at address for this very reason. Let me know if I am wrong about the rules or Jack.
|