The only real issue I see is that the USGA decided to overrule the official on site after he said there was no rules violation. They should not, in my opinion, be going to instant replay. Be that as it may, when I looked the the slo-mo, DJ appeared to have grounded his club beside the ball (not behind it) before the ball moved. This is what I believe the rules officials were focused on. Given that they apparently decided to use instant replay, they probably felt they had no choice but to impose the penalty since his club appeared to touch the ground and there were no other forces involved (such as high winds, which a rule change was put in place to account for) to cause the ball to move.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alemorkam
Players call penalties on themselves for things no one else sees. Now that this has happened to Dustin I can see players being more cautious about saying anything when this happens. It is supposed to be a game of honor and they took that away from Dustin. They more or less called him a liar as he said, and is playing partner said, he did NOT cause the ball to move.
|