Quote:
Originally Posted by outlaw
I only saw the one video that I assumed was what the officials looked at. It did seem to me that DJ's club was perilously close to the ball. If fact, based on the video I saw, it would be impossible, at least to me, to tell if his club did or did not touch the ball. The only mistake the officials made, imho, was to not immediately assess a penalty stroke after viewing the video. It used to be that if you grounded your club, and then the ball moved, you were assessed a penalty stroke (if I remember correctly). It didn't matter what caused the ball to move. I could be wrong about this, but I think I read that Jack Nicklaus did not ground his putter at address for this very reason. Let me know if I am wrong about the rules or Jack.
|
He said he did not cause the ball to move. End of story! If the USGA takes the "honor factor" out of golf the players will respond accordingly. Over 25 years of the Long Anchored Putter, now is outlawed. The non-adequate control of the modern golf ball and technology have made many great courses too short to be competitive, and now a disorientated rules committee screws up the biggest USGA event of the year. I said adios to the USGA over the putter and ball issue years ago and this just confirms my actions.