Quote:
Originally Posted by golfing eagles
If your ball is INSIDE the hazard, you take a stroke penalty and drop (at point ball last crossed margin). If your ball is OUTSIDE the hazard but you would have to stand inside the environmental area to hit it, you get a free drop. Perhaps that is what led to the confusion.
|
Great answer; I played with a person the other day at EP that seemed to think he had a free drop from the left side of #8 Killdeer. After a few moments of discussion, he took the penalty (but still continued to remain apprehensive about the ruling, until we made it to the clubhouse and got clarification).