How the violation was detected doesn't change the fact that she violated the rules, and it is probably not the first time. You don't move the ball out of a hole to improve your lie by accident. The normal way to replace a marked ball is to stand directly behind the ball facing the hole, not sideways the way she did it. If the ball is in a spike mark, you know it, and you have to putt it from the spike mark. You cannot move it. I think she should be more concerned about her reputation, and just acknowledge that the penalty was correct.
Last edited by retiredguy123; 04-03-2017 at 07:49 AM.
|