View Single Post

Old 11-17-2017, 06:48 PM

I read through all the replies. Some are accurate but some not. I'm new to the Villages and didn't expect to see the constant barrage of info about anything financial, but I guess I understand it. There are a ton of retirees down here and everyone wants to sell something. I do have some professional points that folks can take or leave;
Traditional LTC insurance is generally the use it or lose it variety. As people live longer and the costs get higher to care for someone, particularly if they have cognitive issues that can go on for years, the insurance companies pay out more and more in claims, so the premiums will only get higher. Premium pays for protection of assets. I've seen nest eggs and retirement accounts decimated because of the costs of not only facility care, but in-home care of a spouse.
It's true that if you dont use it, you dont get anything back, and premiums will go up but, like it or not, how to pay for medical care like this is a huge financial risk for retirees, and most don't want to be a financial burden to their kids. People who buy LTC insurance are playing the odds, but statistics do show that chances are good one or both spouses will need some form of care when they get older.
To those who say "oh, I'll just rely on Medicare or Medicaid to take care of things.": Have a better plan, because that one sucks. The more Medicare, Medicaid, and government is involved, the less choice you will have in what happens. Medicare stops paying after 90 days. Medicaid is the door to crappy facilities, restricted options for care, and spend-down scenarios with longer and longer lookback periods. These things are not what someone wants to deal with when they have to make hard decisions about the care of a loved one.