Quote:
Originally Posted by Two Bills
Deliberately stopping the ball, which Michleson said he did, "to stop it rolling off the green" is disqualification. Simple.
If he was making a point about the ridiculous set up of the course, have the balls to say so.
Worse than that though, is the so called fans abusive behaviour towards any non-American player. The drunken mob are beneath contempt.
|
Actually, it is not. In the decisions on the rules of golf, rule 1-2, they use the example of a golfer pitching up a slope short and the ball starts rolling back to him. He runs up and stops the ball with his clubhead. The decision explicitly states that this "was not a serious breach", and he is assessed 2 strokes and plays it where he stopped it.