Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Winston O Boogie jr
Why would think he should be disqualified. The penalty for hitting a moving ball is two strokes. He accepted the penalty and completed the hole, completed the round and completed the tournament. Everything was within the rules of golf.
Phil's action was actually a pretty smart strategy as he knew exactly what he was doing and was simply taking advantage of the rules. had he let the ball go, it would have rolled down behind the bunker where he would have had no chance of getting it up and down and it was likely that it would end up rolling off the green again and again.
What's the difference between that and taking a drop from an obstruction in the rough onto the fringe as the rules allow?
|
You obviously didn't read the links I put in the first post.
Hint...Rule 1-2.
Quote:
Rule 1-2 states that a player must not take action with the intent of influencing the movement of a ball in play.
A serious breach of that rule means the rules committee can impose a penalty of DQ.
|
In other words, the USGA made a
'judgment call' in not invoking 1-2...which they very well could/should have.
It isn't nearly as cut & dried...as you're trying to make it.