Quote:
Originally Posted by rjn5656
I like Phil very m uch, but intentionally doing what he did should have warranted a DQ.
|
Again, everyone who is suggesting he should have been DQ'ed needs to read the decisions on the rules of golf, rule 1-2, specifically the example given:
1-2/5.5 Player Purposely Stops or Deflects Ball; Where Next Stroke Must Be Played from
Q.A player's ball lies through the green. After playing a pitch shot up a slope, the player sees his ball start to roll back towards him. He places his club in front of the ball and stops it. The ball would have rolled only a few yards more and remained through the green. What is the ruling?
A.Since the player purposely stopped the ball, he is in breach of Rule 1-2.
As the breach was not serious, the player incurs a penalty of loss of hole in match play or two strokes in stroke play. In stroke play, he must play the ball from the point where he stopped it with his club - see Note 2 to Rule 1-2.