View Single Post

Old 05-15-2019, 08:47 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midnight Cowgirl View Post
You have made some excellent points in your post.

I don't think anyone would agree that a 20-year old leaking roof could be compared to a sinkhole that appears years later. I am not an engineer, but I don't believe sinkholes usually appear until years later due to a number of different circumstances. From the onset of that problem in Calumet Grove, I don't recall the developer addressing the situation as being helpful to the residents who were affected. Correct me if I am wrong. And yes -- Marion County and others are part of the equation, too.

I am aware that the Morse bridge per se is not the problem, but the issue is the erosion. I guess I don't understand the structure of why only certain CDDs are responsible for paying for the repair. I would really have to be aware of and read and comprehend the agreement you have mentioned. And how would a potential buyer know about this agreement with the result being they would be held responsible for paying for this repair down the road (no pun intended)?

With the millions of people traversing this bridge on a daily basis, the average person would think as I have . . . that if the developer owns the land and the county owns the roadway, they should be responsible for the repair. My thinking is only based on logic, not a written agreement with which I am not familiar.

I vividly recall what has taken place in Lehigh Acres. I remember salespeople walking around in resort areas up north in the summertime, selling lots to the poor suckers who believed the propaganda that was told to them! Very sad.