Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123
I have the same feeling about Lexi Thompson in the 2017 ANA tournament. She was given a 4 stroke penalty for moving the ball on the green when a viewer called in to report it. But, a rule change prevented her from being disqualified from the tournament. I guess, under the new rule, she wouldn't have even been penalized. Why mark the ball from the side other than to move it? She didn't even clean it. Here is a video.
Lexi Thompson 2017 4-stroke penalty - YouTube
|
Lexi was my favorite women's player prior to this incident, but other than to move the ball over (away from a spike or other mark?), without even cleaning it, for a one foot putt, can't help but make me think that she knew what she was doing and did it on purpose.