there is a reason why... go back to 2019 and watch this bunker fiasco when he swept sand from behind the ball with a few little waggles behind the ball.... really a pro golfer isn't going to realize that he grounded his club... he got a 2 stroke penalty after cheating on that ....
PGA TOUR - Patrick Reed receives a two-stroke penalty at the Hero World Challenge | Facebook
if he was going to ask for a ruling why didn't he do it before he twirled his finger in the deep grass for a while and then lifted the ball and moved it 3 ft. ... then he asked for an official??... why?? he then went back and AGAIN stuck his finger down where the supposed depression was .. for what reason??? also I find it hard to believe that a ball that lands and then bounces about 1ft in the air and lands again could become inbedded