Quote:
Originally Posted by ureout
there is a reason why... go back to 2019 and watch this bunker fiasco when he swept sand from behind the ball with a few little waggles behind the ball.... really a pro golfer isn't going to realize that he grounded his club... he got a 2 stroke penalty after cheating on that .... PGA TOUR - Patrick Reed receives a two-stroke penalty at the Hero World Challenge | Facebook
if he was going to ask for a ruling why didn't he do it before he twirled his finger in the deep grass for a while and then lifted the ball and moved it 3 ft. ... then he asked for an official??... why?? he then went back and AGAIN stuck his finger down where the supposed depression was .. for what reason??? also I find it hard to believe that a ball that lands and then bounces about 1ft in the air and lands again could become inbedded
|
He didn't twirl his finger in the grass for a while...the PGA tour official...he didn't move it 3'(more like somewhere between nil and 4')and only after receiving permission from said official...also the official went back before the legal drop to see if he could find proof that the surface of the ground had been broken and it the official who said it was. If the OFFICIAL hadn't felt the ground plan had been broken the ball would have been placed back where it stopped after Reeds shot(as Reed had clearly marked the spot with a tee). If a player can not determine if the ball broke the surface of the ground by just looking(he could not as the grass was almost 4" long) then he is allow to mark the ball position and remove the ball(this can also be done if you can't tell if it's their ball or not)
Many people who comment on such things have never picked the rules of golf much less opened it and would probably benefit from doing so if they're going to have opinions that mean less than nothing compared to the reality of the situation.