View Single Post

Old 03-20-2021, 08:13 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grill Meister View Post
Malsua....I learn something new every day. "Open mind and close mouth and learn." I love smoking meats, but I have never used a pellet smoker...You got that puppy really wired up on UTube.

I have a propane smoker and use it often. Being from Eastern North Carolina, we'uns just love our smoked pork. I usually brine my pork over night and then smoke it at 215 to 230 degrees until the internal temp of the pork is about 190. I smoke it for about 5 hours for a 5lb butt. After the first 3 hours, I spray it every hour with apple juice. Good enuf to slap yo momma. I'll have to try your style some time.
I have been around offset smokers although I've never owned one. Fire management, to me, is not worth it. Don't get me wrong, it produces the best results. I have been tending fires for 3 decades now. In fact, there is a wood fire burning in my living room as I type this. For many years it was our sole source of heat and in 2012, we added a boiler, so now it is supplemental but still 3+ cords a year. I've done it enough, I don't want to deal with it for food! I can set a temp and let it go and it holds it. Perfect for me.

We're going to be full time in TV in 2 weeks, so maybe I'll look at wood again, but for now, I hate dealing with fires and tending a fire for 14 hours to smoke a brisket doesn't sound like fun.

As to wires, while a lot of folks cook by feel and look, I like to add sensors . I lack the confidence of established BBQ cooks and I've been in technical fields my entire life, so it's a fit for me. I know sensors well. I started off in the medical field and measuring now is just different meat .

As to spraying, apple cider vinegar 50/50 with water is my go to, but it really makes a difference.