Quote:
Originally Posted by kmspla1952
I've searched and searched and cannot find the answer.
A round of 4-person team scramble/best ball.
On the designated "closest to the pin (KP)" hole, there are 2 balls on the green. One is 3 feet away from the pin and has a very undulated putt. But it is closest to the pin. The other ball on the green is 5 feet away and has a straight in putt.
Can the players mark the 3 foot putt as closest and then play the 5 foot putt because it has a better lie?
Just asking the pros that know. (Not me)
|
You can't find the "rule", because there isn't one. Scrambles are an unofficial format and the sponsors can make up the rules as they go along. In the specific case, there's an argument both ways: The 3' shot was made by someone in the group and should count for "closest to the pin". The other argument of course, if you didn't "use" that shot for scoring, it didn't really exist.
If I was the referee, I'd come down on the side of the "if it wasn't used, it didn't count".