Thread: Hospice
View Single Post

Old 08-29-2023, 06:59 AM
Default Info about hospice that is actual truth

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanie1160 View Post
Can anyone tell me their opinion of joining hospice?
It has gotten to that point and want to know I am making the right decision. Thank you
There are a lot of inaccuracies on these replies so I’ll jump in here with some actual info and hope it helps. I’m a nurse, I’ve worked in hospice, and my father had hospice a few years ago before he died. Hospice care is expert end of life care provided by an interdisciplinary team. A person needs to have a physicians order for hospice, although hospice providers can come to your home and assess you and contact your doctor for an order. Your doctor needs to think and certify that you have likely 6 months or less to live, although you won’t get kicked out of you don’t die in that 6 months. Medicare and most insurances provide hospice as a benefit. Hospice will cover all medications, medical equipment, provide a nurse, nurse aid, social worker, etc. and do everything they can to help their patients be comfortable. Their expertise is comfort care. When you sign up for hospice, you are agreeing not to simultaneously seek curative care ( such as chemo, surgeries, etc.). Hospice care can be provided in your home, a hospice facility (although you will have to cover room and board), a care facility, etc.