Quote:
Originally Posted by Aces4
You can't see if your ball went in the water on your drive on a Village's course? 
|
By USGA rules you cannot. It is one of the more annoying and often ignored USGA rules. You can't hit a provisional if your ball may or may not be in the water (or other penalty area). If you do, that second ball is in play with a one stroke penalty regardless of whether the first ball is up or not. Its no big deal if its red stakes because you can walk up and then drop by the water if you are in, but if its yellow stakes its a problem.