Quote:
Originally Posted by SHIBUMI
A scores 8. assumes hits green in 2 and two putts
B scores 4. assumes hit green in 2 and 2 putts
B plays from spot that A hit his ball, hits green in 2 and 2 putts
A goes back to tee, hitting 3 fourth shot on green and 2 putts equals 6 with 2 stroke penalty for 8
its called equity, A's ball is lost, can't assume its in the water not enough evidence..... B deserves to play where his original ball was
neither teed up from the next tee so can correct the situation...boom
|
I agree with your reasoning, but the Decision (which I can't find), came down differently.
Once you put a 2nd ball into play, there's no option to return to your original ball, regardless of circumstances. A player's obligation is to identify his ball. The fact that a fellow competitor hit his ball, doesn't relieve him of the responsibility.
The USGA hardly ever "rules in equity", as their position has always been, golf is an unfair game.
(To be fair, there may not even be an actual decision on this one. I read the scenario many years ago, on a Rules Forum. I was with your opinion for Player A and was laughed at. If I remember correctly, it was submitted to the USGA as a hypothetical)