Quote:
Originally Posted by Russ_Boston
Another interesting golf point:
The sliver of light thing - If you'll remember when the person in the crowd said "Do you want me to just block it (the sunlight)?) DJ said "that would be great".
By doing so he may have violated Rule 14-2 (Accept physical assistance or protection from the elements). Sub decision 14-2.5 talks about "While a player may not place an object or position a person for the purpose of blocking the sunlight from his ball, he may ask a person (e.g., a spectator) who is already in position not to move, so that a shadow remains over the ball, or to move, so that his shadow is not over the ball"
By basically telling the person that it is OK to move to block the sunlight he may have been in violation of the rule.
Just an interesting day! Not for DJ though.
|
Considering that infamous snow-plow game in Foxboro a few years back
Good take on the whole situation Russ; still puzzled why DJ's caddy was mysteriously absent during this whole situation...and with the sliver of light issue as well...he probably would have known to inadvertantly get himself in the "right spot" to provide some "accidental" assistance.