View Single Post

Old 05-09-2011, 09:26 AM
Sage
Default Sorry, this is long and boring....

Of course it is boring, what did you expect, it is about golf cart batteries for goodness sake

I have only owned electric carts since buying a place in TV in 2007 and knew zero when I got my first cart. With the first cart, when the range decreased I looked at the batteries and said. I guess I need a new set. I will never know the exact reason I needed a new pack, did I discharge too much, did I have a bad battery, etc? They were three years old, so I just forked over $725+ for 8-6 volt batteries.

This time I know more than a fifth grader (but not much) from reading sites like this or:
http://www.buggiesgonewild.com/
http://server1.buggiesunlimited.com/...forum.php?f=11
It is amazing the number of threads that address these issues every day. Range, how deep to discharge versus life, testing, etc. Please understand, I am not an expert, just relaying my experience. When I use words like “my thinking is” you could easily replace them with “my guess is”.

Back to my issue. I have one bad battery and five that have the potential to go 25+ miles without discharging the pack too greatly. I am headed north soon and I sure do not wish to buy a new pack for $625 and as importantly I have sister-in-laws en route.

My Dad is currently rebuilding a CC to hold 8-6 volt batteries so he has a few 8 volt batteries in the garage and offers one to me. FYI, my Dad is smarter than a fifth grader and most anyone else I know and at 79 years young to be stripping a cart down to the frame, moving batteries, designing a space for two new batteries, adding a lift kit, rewiring the entire 12 volt system, etc. is inspiring IMO .