View Single Post

Old 04-08-2013, 03:40 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,507 Times in 1,907 Posts
Send a message via AIM to graciegirl

Quote:
Originally Posted by LBBLLB View Post
Village residents participating in recreational activities are often given release agreements to sign. Most residents sign these without reading them. As an Attorney I am appalled at what residents are being asked to sign and the suggestion from the villages administration that you are required to sign. For example suppose you are attending one of the many exercise activities . You are told to sign "so you dont sue us if you are injured". What you are actually signing is much more comprehensive than you are being told. The release covers all of the village activities not just the exercise activity that you are participating in. If you are injured as a result of someones negligence you are waiving your right to recover medical expenses that you may incur and the right to sue fordamages. Suppose for example you are playing golf on one of the executive golf courses in the villages and a maintenance vehicle runs into you through no fault of your own. The release agreement that you signed at the exercise activity would prevent you from recovering damages arising from the golf course incident. Another example would be if you were injured at a recreation centre because an improperly installed light fixture or chandelier fell on you. You could incur large medical bills yet the release agreement you signed at the exercise activity would prevent you from recovering your costs.