Talk of The Villages Florida - View Single Post - question about Solheim ruling Friday
View Single Post
 
Old 08-17-2013, 05:06 AM
ajbrown's Avatar
ajbrown ajbrown is offline
Sage
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mallory Square (9 months/year), TBD the rest
Posts: 2,641
Thanks: 12
Thanked 21 Times in 12 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jebartle View Post
when a ball is hit in a hazard, do you still have the option of returning to approx. area where the errant ball was originally hit or line of sight???

Stuff cut by Alan.
Rule 26-1 is here. USGA: Rules and Decisions

One option (26-1a) is to return to the place from which you hit into the hazard, NOT the approx area, remember what happened to Tiger in the Masters.

I am not sure what you mean by line of sight. You can go back as far as you want (26-1b) keeping the point the ball last crossed hazard between you and the hole.

I did not see match, but it sounds like she incorrectly tried to apply rule 26-1c. That rule applies to lateral hazards and allows the player to drop with two club lengths of the last point of entry or a point on the opposite side of hazard.

If I am correctly reading what she did, they allowed her to apply rule 26-1b keeping the point on the opposite side of the hazard between her and the flag. You can only apply 26-1b using the point the ball last crossed into hazard, not the point on opposite side.

Nice summary here, likely less confusing than mine

2013 Solheim Cup - Stacy Lewis Furious Over Incorrect Ruling | Golf Channel
__________________
.
Photobucket has changed their site from free for years to now blocking your photos, shame on them and will have to find new way to post albums I have.

Last edited by ajbrown; 08-17-2013 at 05:16 AM. Reason: i had to fix words as it made no sense :-)