Talk of The Villages Florida - View Single Post - question about Solheim ruling Friday
View Single Post
 
Old 08-18-2013, 10:03 AM
spk7951's Avatar
spk7951 spk7951 is offline
Gold member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,285
Thanks: 7
Thanked 38 Times in 21 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbrown View Post
Once again I learned something yesterday while watching the conceded putt "drama":

More Solheim Cup Drama Over Conceded Putt on Day 2 | Golf Channel

It had nothing to do with the concession or the potential infraction of rules by Annika giving advice. It was the fact that in a fourball match play, a player can continue to play the hole even though their next stroke is irrelevant.

Creamer was putting for par after Europe had already holed a birdie. I would have never thought to give an irrelevant putt? I likely would have made a fool of myself and said "Hey Paula what the heck are you doing, I already made 3; which may have started a brawl

I happened to be watching it when this event occurred. The caddy yelled out the putt was good as Paula was moving her putter and things went downhill from there. Paula picked up and then after a discussion with the group official he asked Paula if she wanted to put the ball back down and putt it out. She did not play the ball.
As the on air rules official explained it, a caddy may not concede a putt in match play and if Paula had played that ball after picking it up then Lexi could not finish the hole and since Euro had already birdied the hole then USA would have lost the hole.
Another official that does not know the rules and I do not understand why there is not a penalty incurred for a breech like this by the caddy.