Talk of The Villages Florida - View Single Post - question about Solheim ruling Friday
View Single Post
 
Old 08-18-2013, 02:49 PM
BarryRX's Avatar
BarryRX BarryRX is offline
Platinum member
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau County, Evansville IN, Boca Raton, Toledo OH, Pennecamp
Posts: 1,805
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spk7951 View Post
I happened to be watching it when this event occurred. The caddy yelled out the putt was good as Paula was moving her putter and things went downhill from there. Paula picked up and then after a discussion with the group official he asked Paula if she wanted to put the ball back down and putt it out. She did not play the ball.
As the on air rules official explained it, a caddy may not concede a putt in match play and if Paula had played that ball after picking it up then Lexi could not finish the hole and since Euro had already birdied the hole then USA would have lost the hole.
Another official that does not know the rules and I do not understand why there is not a penalty incurred for a breech like this by the caddy.
I agree! A caddy cannot concede a putt, but I don't know what violation he committed besides bad sportsmanship. I guess that if Paula had gone ahead and putted anyway to show Lexi the line, then Lexi would have been allowed to putt because Paula's putt was never officially conceded by one of the European players.