Talk of The Villages Florida - View Single Post - Intentional Grounding Rule.
View Single Post
 
Old 10-21-2013, 09:27 AM
DonH57's Avatar
DonH57 DonH57 is offline
Sage
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Village Santo Domingo.
Posts: 3,959
Thanks: 1
Thanked 623 Times in 321 Posts
Send a message via AIM to DonH57
Default Intentional Grounding Rule.

I'm hoping someone could answer this question. To my understanding if a quarterback steps out of the pocket he may throw out the ball to an empty space as long as there is one eligible reciever past the line of scrimmage to avoid being sacked and loss of yards. If that's the case how is the quarterback allowed to spike or intentionally ground the ball because technically he is in the pocket when he does this. I'm I not reading the ruling correctly or is it the NFL's description of the pocket I don't understand.