Additive for golf cart

Closed Thread
Old 05-03-2018, 08:52 PM
Sage
Thanked 4,921 Times in 2,447 Posts

Imo gas is gas in the average cars for sale, my lawnmower engine in my golf cart runs just fine on any gas I buy reguardless of brands Or octane. Back in the old days when I had triple Duce GTX I looked for the highest octane gas I could find which was good old Ethel. When I wanted to really to fast I filled up with airplane gas. If you feel Shell or any other gas station gas don't have enough additives already? there are plenty for sale, kind like insurance, just in case?
Old 05-03-2018, 10:21 PM
Sage

I have a 2017 Yamaha QuieTech Golf Cart. I'm a seasonal resident.
When leaving for an extended period of time, I buy ethanol-free gas at Gordon's Garage at LSL.
I understand that the Shell stations do not have ethanol-free gas. I'm told if you buy Shell gas, you need a stabilizer.
Old 05-19-2018, 06:20 PM

The manual for my 2017 Yamaha indicates that the use of gas with up to 10% ethanol is OK. It does not recommend the ethanol free gasoline. Older carts might be different. If you begin to use gas with ethanol after using non ethanol gas for a while, the ethanol will dissolve the varnish buildup in the fuel system and clog your fuel filter. Ethanol can cause problems in fuel systems that were not designed to tolerate it. I only use the fuel additive if we are going to be gone for an extended period when the cart will not be used.
Old 05-19-2018, 07:43 PM
Sage
Thanked 9,050 Times in 2,740 Posts