Best Electric Cart to buy

Closed Thread
Old 06-29-2013, 12:59 PM

AJBrown, that's a lot of good information. I was Planning on bringing a volt meter with me when I return this fall. I have the same analog meter, so if I run the battery's down to 48.4 I'll still have a good amount of life left? What would be the ideal voltage to recharge? If I run the batteries down to 47 volts is that bad for them?
Old 06-29-2013, 01:48 PM
Sage
Default Trojan Battery web site pretty good starting point

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickg View Post
AJBrown, that's a lot of good information. I was Planning on bringing a volt meter with me when I return this fall. I have the same analog meter, so if I run the battery's down to 48.4 I'll still have a good amount of life left? What would be the ideal voltage to recharge? If I run the batteries down to 47 volts is that bad for them?
Glad to help, I am not a professional, just love electric carts and I enjoy sharing my experiences and hearing others from TV. There are a lot of good sites, but I always find myself back at Trojan Battery Company (Maintenance page) for a reference. Once you get on that page, read through the related links. There are two that are pertinent to our current discussion.

This one talks about how deeply to discharge related to your 47 volt question.
Trojan Battery Company (discharging the pack)

On the following link pay special attention to the chart at the bottom.
Trojan Battery Company (SOC table)

As far as what do you have left when you at 48.4 volts? Your mileage will vary. I did a test last year on my pack and took the time to graph my results. Here is a long winded description of the test run Test run description

and here is the results which may answer your range question.
Test run results graphed
Old 06-30-2013, 07:56 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajbrown View Post
Get a volt meter installed in your golf cart. It is a pretty simple DIY project and I suspect a relatively inexpensive install if you hire.