Emergency flashers won't turn off

Closed Thread
Old 07-30-2022, 04:56 PM
Default Emergency flashers won't turn off

When I got this used cart, the turn signal lights in the mirrors would be on when the headlights were on. Now the emergency flashers are on and will not turn off unless I unhook the ground on the battery.

I'm fairly handy with things but don't know where to begin with this situation. Please help! :-)

Thanks
Old 07-30-2022, 05:27 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,421 Times in 2,268 Posts

First make sure that the hazard light switch isn’t on. Once that’s verified disconnect the wires from the switch and see if the switch is defective.

We've Got Plenty Of Youth.. What We Need Is a Fountain Of SMART!
Old 07-30-2022, 06:23 PM
Sage
Thanked 6,151 Times in 2,249 Posts

Jim, I sent you a PM (private message). Jim, please give me a call, I have a lot of experience on 12 VDC systems (cars and carts). This sounds like the switch may have failed, but try this first, move the turn signal switch to a right or left turn position, and watch the typical chrome actuator near the base of the turn signal lever. If it pops out this was your problem, the emergency flashers are activated by pushing the actuator in and it stays in that position until released.
Some carts have electronic emergency flashers activated by a simple toggle switch, which could be located anywhere, or the electronic module may have failed, I just had a failure of this module on our cart.
I do not post my phone number on public forums.

Last edited by villagetinker; 07-30-2022 at 06:31 PM. Reason: Added text
Old 07-30-2022, 06:37 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,421 Times in 2,268 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by villagetinker View Post