Policy Change

Closed Thread
Old 02-20-2017, 05:22 PM
Sage
Thanked 2,954 Times in 1,160 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by permanentvacation View Post
If a cop stops you for going 22 mph in a golf cart, then he/she needs to get a life. There are bigger fish to fry. (Btw, I am a retired cop.)
I wish the Sumter County Sheriffs thought that way, unfortunately they don't. It's a hot or cold item, sometimes you see them, and then they're not around anymore. I have to drive on Baileys Trail quite often and I knew where to look. Usually at the Cane Garden pump station just past the first green, there's a little driveway and they would sit in there with their radar gun. I haven't seen them in a year, but the POA newsletter use to report cart tickets and for a while they were giving about about 60 unregistered vehicle tickets to carts every quarter. Those are the tickets they give to a speeding golf cart, and it requires deep pockets and a trip to the Bushnell Courthouse to see the judge and you better bring a letter from an authorized dealer that your cart has been dialed back to 19.9 mph.

Here is an even bigger reason to get a life. For a good while the county sheriffs were giving out tickets to those who sit in their parked golf cart listening to the band at LSL and having a draft beer or open can in their cart. If your parked on a street parking space you're in their domain. You can put a yard chair on the pavement and sit and drink a beer right next to your cart and be totally legal. Sit in the cart and drink a beer, that's a ticket.