Transporting my dog to TV

Closed Thread
Old 09-26-2019, 04:27 PM
Default Transporting my dog to TV

i bought a home i the historic district....other than driving my pup down to the villages....what is the best way to get him here....kind of afraid to fly him down 24 pound doxy
Old 09-27-2019, 11:54 AM
Gold member

You might be able to hire someone to drive your dog to Florida or even better if they could drive you and your dog. I would be concerned letting a stranger transport and handle my dachshund. Not everyone knows about dachshunds being prone to back issues and do not know how to properly pick up a dachshund or don't know that they shouldn't be jumping in and out of cars and going up and down steps. I beleive there are some companies that transport animals, but I have no experience with any of them.
Old 09-27-2019, 12:17 PM
Gold member

A trucker driver may do it, too. Where would you be transporting from? I know a truck driver who might be able to help if you are in his area.
Old 09-27-2019, 12:46 PM
Sage
Thanked 3,625 Times in 1,884 Posts

Our Dog was going to be flown to Orlando until we found out that only one company was still open and available to do this for us. Just short of $1200 from Newark N.J. It was a major issue as he was so important to us. In the end, we put his bed in the back of a Ford Transit Connect Van and Barney did better on the trip than we did. He had no interest in eating during the day as we set up his regular setup like home in the shade and didn't rush him but all he wanted to do was get a drink of water do a little peeps and get back into the A/C. He ate like a Dog when we landed at The La Quinta which was recommended to us by other posters on TOTV'S.