PDA

View Full Version : "Bond"

pattymcg
09-06-2008, 10:37 PM
Hi,

I'm a novice. I've been searching online for a home in The Villages, but have no clue what the bond refers to. Help!

Thanks

jeffy
09-06-2008, 11:14 PM
The bond is for the all the things the developer needs to install to make your new home habitable. Such as your neighborhood roads , water and sewage, electricity, gas hook up to your house, building permits, etc.

The bond is usually based on the size of the lots. Example: If you have a regular home, it might be $20k, if you have a villa it might be $11k. You can either make a once a year payment on the bond with your tax bill, or they offer you once a year the option of paying it all off.

My home in Winifred had a 10k bond to start off with 3 years ago. The yearly payment is about $850.

The newer neighborhoods in the last couple of years have about 20k or 11k bonds that I mentioned above. The older neighborhoods (4years and more started with lower bonds such as I have).

English Ivy
09-06-2008, 11:51 PM
Here's a link to a specific page on the districtgov.org web site which explains the what the bond is for, how the cost is determined, how you pay it, etc. Hopefully it will answer some of your questions. By the way, you'll notice it's for district 7 which is where I live and most of the new building is happening.

http://www.districtgov.org/slcdd/yourdistrict/faq.asp?district=7

Check out other areas of this web site as well. It has a lot of valuable information regarding TV and how it is run.

pattymcg
09-09-2008, 09:14 PM
Thanks..it sounds something like a maintainence fee..

chuckster
09-10-2008, 12:07 AM
Not a maintenance fee, but a payback of the infrastructure costs of the developer or financing agency to convert raw land to building lots with services. In my opinion, he collects his investment via the bond.

Reefer
11-27-2010, 10:54 AM