PDA

View Full Version : Socialized Medicine - Tell us your real life experiences

islandgal
09-09-2008, 09:05 AM
To better understand, I would like to hear some real life experiences with socialized medicine - no hearsay or opinions - just real life experiences and thoughts from those who have lived with it.

islandgal
09-09-2008, 08:09 PM
Bump

rshoffer
09-12-2008, 07:58 PM
I worked as a physician for 9 years in a health care system where everyone, regardless of social rank received essentially the same level of care. At that time medications and all aspects of health, dental, vision care were covered at no cost to the member. I've been a physician for 31 years and looking back I've never seen a health care delivery system that came close to that 9 year experience in quality or access. I don't know if you'd call my 9 years in the US Army Medical Corps an example of socialized medicine but it certainly was a hell of a lot better than the mess I entered after I (regretfully) left the Army. BTW, my son must have felt the same way. He's currently a US Army physician at Madigan in Tacoma.

islandgal
09-12-2008, 08:36 PM
Thank you for that info - It is good to know that our troops are receiving that care. I think it's great your son followed your lead.
It is sad that our service men seem to receive much care less once they are out of the service. How do you feel about that?

another Linda
09-12-2008, 09:11 PM
Our experience mirrors rshoffer's. My husband was in the military for 7 years (and our son too is an Army physician at Madigan!). I know he felt the same way.