PDA

View Full Version : Golf cart to slow

woolman44
11-15-2008, 01:51 PM
This is my first try on this type of forum. We have just moved to The Villages and our new 2008 Club Car Precedent gas model seems to be in slow motion compared to all other carts down here! I have tried calling Club Car and a local authorized dealer, and have been treated somewhat unkindly. Any tips or help in gaining some speed would be much appreciated. I'm planning on joining the golf cart club, but their next meeting is a ways off.
Thanks for any imput.

Shirleevee
11-15-2008, 02:45 PM
Sorry I can't help.......however,

Welcome to THE VILLAGES!:wave:

disney07
11-15-2008, 03:45 PM
Woolman44,
Was it Cart World that you had problems with? If so, I'd work past the service person you spoke with and arrange for a technician to come to your home to look at the speed problem. We just had a Tech (Kevin) from Cart World (352-753-1800) look at our 2 carts. Highly Skilled, knew his stuff, very personable. Will test drive using GPS to tell your speed. Extremely happy so far, pick up is the 18th to correct several problems. I would be cautious of any changes to your cart that would void your 4 yr warrantee. Good Luck.

Barefoot
11-15-2008, 07:25 PM
I believe the speed limit in TV on the golf cart paths is 19 mph. I think most carts are "programmed" to have a maximum speed of 19. I know my Columbia Par Car is.

Perhaps the speedier carts you are noticing are "street legal". They can drive on the country roads (such as 466), and must be licensed and insured like a car.

You say you've just moved to The Villages. I find the longer I'm here, the more I relax and enjoy the scenery and the ambience. Perhaps once you live here for a while, you'll enjoy slowing down and smelling the roses.

If not, you could do what Fireboy did, and buy a motor cycle. Zoom zoom.

cglenhar
11-15-2008, 08:32 PM