PDA

View Full Version : Valkyrie, Benjamin Buttons, 7 Pounds, Day..Earth Stood Still

Freeda
12-31-2008, 12:10 PM
Hi, I am new to TOTV, and thought I would share my recent movie reviews, ad I am a frequent movie-goer.

Loved '7 Pounds' - a great movie;
hated Day the Earth Stood Still (no real story - the original one was tons better);
Valkyrie was slow, very few actions scenes - only see it if you just want to learn the history story, as I did;
'The Odd Case of Benjamin Buttons' (This may not be exactly the correct title of the movie) I found very weird, without a point, and not interesting, although some of the acting was okay and of course, Brad Pitt always looks great - even when made up to look 'old'.
I saw part of 'Marley and Me' while waiting for a different movie to start and it looked great - I will go back to see the entire movie.

Happy New Year's Eve, everyone! Freeda Clark

Irish Rover
12-31-2008, 12:26 PM
Marley & Me is a tear jerker. Took my wife and her friend and they cried on several occasions even though they said they loved it. Thanks for the reviews as we are going to a movie tonight before dinner and celebrating. Happy New Year

rshoffer
12-31-2008, 12:40 PM
Marley & Me is a tear jerker. Took my wife and her friend and they cried on several occasions even though they said they loved it. Thanks for the reviews as we are going to a movie tonight before dinner and celebrating. Happy New Year I think I almost needed CPR after "old Yeller" 50 years ago.... not sure I can handle this one.

Taltarzac
12-31-2008, 12:50 PM
So far this Holiday season, I have only seen a couple of the big new releases. Have to agree that The Day the Earth Stood Still pales in comparison with the 1951 (?) original.

I liked Valkyrie even if it was more of a political thriller than a war movie. There were a few WWII scenes but if you go expecting something like Patton you will be disappointed. Tom Cruise also seemed miscast for the role of the chief conspirator.