PDA

View Full Version : We could loose many Queen Palms

MnGirl
03-07-2009, 06:53 AM
As a landscaper I have noticed some of our Queen palms dying.
It starts with the end of the Queen palm frond, it looks like the end has been chewed off. Instead of having nice leaves hanging down, the frond looks like it was in a shredder.
My neighbors tree got this last summer, and it was dead in 6 months, and it spread to her other tree. I noticed my tree had it a month ago, so I cut the frond in half. I'm hoping I stopped my tree from dying. I'll keep you informed.
Please be on the look out for this on your trees.

Becky
03-07-2009, 07:20 AM
What do you think is killing them?

Becky

graciegirl
03-07-2009, 07:31 AM
Don't they have an agricultural extension program here that you can ask? I think I saw something in the Sun this morning about a speaker from extension who was talking about Crape Myrtle. (I wondered at the time if that was a mispelling, I had imaged it as Crepe Myrtle)

Edited. I just reread the article. It is HORTICULTURAL , not agricultural. She was from University of Florida IFAS Extension Services and they periodically give seminars around the community. This was in Oxford, off campus.

MnGirl
03-07-2009, 11:55 AM
I don't think anyone knows what's killing them.:shrug: Miami was hit in 07 & 08, and they think it's the birds that transfer the disease.
Also, there is a landscaper advertising he will remove your dead palms, The brown ones are not dead, wait until April, and see what comes back.

Jeff Bieberfeld
03-07-2009, 12:33 PM
from what i have read it is called 'yellowing disease'; and it is incurable. the suggestion is to plant resistant species.
but i could be wrong.

Barefoot
03-07-2009, 01:33 PM
I don't think anyone knows what's killing them.:shrug: Miami was hit in 07 & 08, and they think it's the birds that transfer the disease.