PDA

View Full Version : Spray Painting

jamblu
09-01-2016, 12:04 PM
I have 2 ceiling fans and dark wicker furniture I would like spray painted. Can any one with experience do this?

Thank you

villagetinker
09-01-2016, 12:23 PM
I have never tried true wicker, if what you have is the plastic (looks like wicker) there are some new spray paints that are SUPPOSED to work well on plastic (PVC). I have no first hand experience. You will probably need to use a pressure washer to clean these prior to painting. Since the wicker tends to move as it is used, I would suspect the paint will chip and wear.

As for the fans, you will probably need 2 paints, one for the blades (wood or plastic), and one for the case (metal). You will need to make sure the fan is VERY clean, as these tend to build up a greasy film. The film must be completely off or you will get an uneven blotchy paint job. I have had this happen a couple of times, and ended up having to sand the item to completely clean it. I would also use a very good petroleum based cleaner prior to painting.

Hope this helps, and good luck with your project.

Fraugoofy
09-01-2016, 03:10 PM
I have 2 ceiling fans and dark wicker furniture I would like spray painted. Can any one with experience do this?

Thank you
I spray painted my ceiling fans with Walmart spray paint. Turned out beautiful. If you want to paint wicker I suggest Annie Sloan chalk paint. It is fabulous! You have to go to a speciality store that sells Annie Sloan, but totally worth it!

Sent from my SM-N910R4 using Tapatalk

Waverunner
09-01-2016, 03:59 PM
The new spray paints are marvelous! Paint and primer in one. Works on multiple surfaces. Read the can for the instructions.

I have painted several pieces of furniture. The best suggestions I have to offer are: