PDA

View Full Version : Fertilizer

kristi
08-07-2010, 08:01 AM
I am new to TV and have Empire Zoysia. The home care manual says to use low nitrogen fertilizer like 15-1-15 or 16-4-8. I thought the corresponding ingredients meant Nitrogen/Phosphorous/Potassium, which would mean the recommended fertilizers are high in Nitrogen and not low in nitrogen. I have read in other strings that Scotts works well. Turf Builder + 2% iron has 29-2-4. Has anyone used this particular fertilizer or is there a better Scotts for Empire Zoysia?

graciegirl
08-07-2010, 08:22 AM
Oh boy. Here is what I did recently. We have a small yard with our Camellia and the yard maintenance folks charge quite a bit for fertilizing so I just got a big container of MiracleGro and walked around the yard sprinkling it. The container was about $20 and it took about a container and a half to do the whole yard. They are little time release granules as you know and they work great on the flowers and bushes for three months. I didn't want to clutter the garage with one of those fertilizer spreaders so that is what I did.The yard looks fine, not quite as green as Mr. Greenjeans, my neighbor next door, but fine.

Now, John N or someone else who speaks "growing things" please tell me how I messed up. Or if I did. I love to garden but I have never figured out all that nitrogen stuff. I think my azaleas and my magnolia need another food but so far they haven't received it.:confused:

Bogie Shooter
08-07-2010, 10:09 AM
I use Scotts Souther Turf Builder on my zoysia, 32-0-10. Been using for 5 years.

petenj
08-07-2010, 11:32 AM
Ace Hardware, Scott's products and a hand held spreader works well for me. My property is small, and is easily covered by a bag for 5,000 sq. ft. I think the lawn is smaller than that, but I am fertilizing more than I did up north. Soil is nonexistent here. MHO :popcorn:
So far so good.

Julie
08-07-2010, 02:15 PM
Here's a link to what the University of Florida IFAS extension recommends: