PDA

View Full Version : Rescued Yellow Parakeet

CFrance
04-14-2013, 06:22 PM
DGx2 kindly rescued a yellow parakeet from her backyard on Bachman Path, backing up to Tarpon Boil in Buttonwood. She put the info on the forum, and we have taken possession of the bird (yes, he is a parakeet, not a canary--yellow with a green neck) because her dog was not amenable to having a bird. We have a Cockatiel and extra cage and food.

This is a sweet bird and is verrrrrrrrry hungry. Blackbirds were attacking it. but it is only slightly injured, thanks to Donna and her husband's quick action.

If you know whose bird this is, please PM me or call 352-610-6334.

Also, since I'm new at this, I would like any suggestions as to how to find the owner. Someone already suggested calling the radio station, which I will, and also my vet. We've only been here a year and don't know where the rescue societies are.

He's a sweet bird and will have a forever home here if we can't find the owner. But I hate to think of someone missing a pet.

duffysmom
04-14-2013, 07:17 PM
Wow.. thank you for stepping up, never a dull moment. I didn't realize blackbirds attack smaller birds. I'm amazed
the bird could be caught so easily; perhaps he was exhausted and hungry. The radio station is the best way to get the word out. Please keep us informed.

golf4me
04-14-2013, 07:20 PM
Good for you.

gerryann
04-14-2013, 07:28 PM
My link won't copy, but they're are wild parakeets in Florida.

CFrance
04-14-2013, 07:30 PM
Wow.. thank you for stepping up, never a dull moment. I didn't realize blackbirds attack smaller birds. I'm amazed
the bird could be caught so easily; perhaps he was exhausted and hungry. The radio station is the best way to get the word out. Please keep us informed.